CureZone   Log On   Join
Re: Zapper like thing?!

Views: 3,153
Published: 15 years ago

This is a reply to # 75,529

Re: Zapper like thing?!

thanks for your the kind sentiment. i appreciate that.

i looked up the zapper. while it has less volts (9 vs. 75), it also has 30 times more ampherage than the machine that was used on me. that's alot more. both ampherage and voltage can do damage. my father, who is an electrical engineer, described it to me this way; picture yourself standing in a river. the voltage is the force of the current of the water, and the ampherage is the depth of the water. increase the depth of the water, and its easier to drown in the current.
in my understanding (and i'm no electrical engineer so if i don't have it right, maybe someone else can give more info) the electricity will flow towards the ground. thats true whether its a zapper or myomonitor. in either case, a circuit will be made from the electrode, to the ground, and if the body is in the middle of those 2 things, electricity will flow through it. not, in my opinion, desirable.

the machine i used was a myomonitor, used in neuromuscular dentistry. a very well known group of dentists (who value themselves very highly) use this machine. its purpose is different than a zapper, its used to relax the jaw electrically, so that a night guard can be made - that's an appliance that people wear at night in order to help TMJ. while the machine has less voltage than a zapper, it also 'pulses' on/off, so you're not getting electricity every moment of it. the machine is at
http://www.myotronics.com/NR/store/index.cfm?action=cat.prodInfo&pr...