CureZone   Log On   Join
Holding the space for healing
9thbody Views: 1,714
Published: 14 years ago

Holding the space for healing

What is Sat Nam Rasayan®?

Sat Nam Rasayan® (SNR) is an ancient yogic healing technique that uses the transcendent consciousness to heal. We hold a contemplative state of consciousness, called the projective meditative mind, which allows the release of resistance to self and to reality. In this transcendent consciousness, as we relate to an event, our consciousness and that of the event merge. Resistance in the form of differentiation, preconceptions, conditions, and boundaries and limits may change or disappear.

What are the basics of SNR?
Yes. The basic, level 1 SNR is learned through four steps: (a) To begin, you open the space. That is, you come into the meditative state of contemplation.

(b) Once the space is open, you stabilize it by equalizing your awareness of the

sensations. We treat every sensation the same. No single sensation is considered more important than any other. All 5 senses are included, experienced at the same time, and allowed to happen. (c) Next you individualize, you select an event and set an intention. You contemplate the resistance that is experienced, which, to begin with, is through the senses. Contemplation is a neutral awareness that is completely receptive. There is no reaction in this state. In SNR we allow the resistance to happen. It is not about doing something, rather it is being in the state of contemplation, allowing and including all that one experiences. (d) And the final step is to recognize when the process is complete, i.e. when the resistance has disappeared or changed.

How do you open the space?
Opening the space is attaining a specific meditative state – that of SNR contemplation. Generally when one meditates, you sit in some yogic posture, hold a mudra, possibly chant a mantra, and practice some breath pattern with the eyes focused on some place, such as the tip of the nose. In SNR we use the sensations we experience as a stepping-stone to reach the meditative state of contemplation. Once you’ve practiced SNR for a while, you can go directly to that state of consciousness. We train the consciousness like a muscle. For example, when you want to pick something up, you don’t consciously tell your hand to reach, grasp, and lift; you just go ahead and do it. The same is true with SNR contemplation.

What is Resistance?
Resistance is when you are uncomfortable, or feel a contraction or a density that blocks you from experiencing other sensations. As Guru Dev explains, “A resistance is a proposition to reality that holds you in a tendency.” This proposition or condition is a position of the mind that manifests through the sensations, and that is what is called resistance. Any stance a person takes, their point of view or point of reference, is limiting and produces a resistance. SNR is not based on a belief system. A belief such as a point of view, preconception or judgment, creates a limit to the consciousness. For example, a woman treating her child may take the stance of the mother (protective, loving, possibly with hopes and expectations). While not being good or bad, it is the relationship they have, and it may limit or orient what can happen in the treatment. It is not neutral.

What can you use SNR for?
SNR is not a medical science. It is a meditative state of consciousness, a yogic technology, which can have healing benefits – even if it is solely to relax a person. Yogi Bhajan has called SNR “ultra-relaxation.” It has been shown through medical research that relaxation lowers blood pressure, reduces anxiety, and stimulates immune cells and their function. In SNR we make no claims as to its efficacy in treating any particular disease or condition. People often seek SNR help for physical, mental and emotional issues.

Are there any guidelines for the beginner?
There are three basic guidelines which are helpful for those new to SNR.

(1) Everything you know is based on your sensations, your experience as you are contemplating.

(2) You only feel yourself in relation with something. You don’t feel something directly; you feel how it affects you.

(3) Anything that happens in the relation is included. You cannot discriminate or eliminate. Everything is included.

SNR Certification

There are four levels of certification: (1) student, (2) healer, (3) instructor, and (4) teacher. Level 1 was described in the “basics of SNR” section. In level 2 there are 5 modalities to gain proficiency in: resonance, forms and shapes, elements, dream state, and the art of knowing. In forms and shapes, for example, we recognize that a square is grounding and a triangle is effective at dispersing or releasing dense resistance. A circle has flow and can give a sense of completion. And then there are irregular shapes and 3-dimensional shapes to explore. In level 3 proficiency must be shown in teaching the five modalities that are learned in level 2.

In addition, an instructor is able to work with the meridian of the group, produce a bindu (center) in a class, recognize the hukam (order) of the class’s need, identify which part of the psyche of the group is functioning, and recognize which aspect of the consciousness the instructor is working from. The qualifications for level 4 are not yet available. A more detailed description of the requirements for the levels is provided on


Printer-friendly version of this page Email this message to a friend
Alert Moderators
Report Spam or bad message  Alert Moderators on This GOOD Message

This Forum message belongs to a larger discussion thread. See the complete thread below. You can reply to this message!


Donate to CureZone

CureZone Newsletter is distributed in partnership with

Contact Us - Advertise - Stats

Copyright 1999 - 2020

0.547 sec, (3)