CureZone   Log On   Join
The use of antibiotic cream in a constant moisture routine.

rcb Views: 1,129
Published: 6 years ago

The use of antibiotic cream in a constant moisture routine.

Hi, i've been a lurker here for a couple years and suffered EC ever since i graduated high school 5 years ago. I currently go to college in the medical Science field. It is my belief that EC is primarily caused by physical trauma to the lips in most cases but can be made worse in people with compromised immune systems. My EC first started when my then GF bit my lip and broke the skin. I was also going through the most stressful time in my life which caused me to lick my lips nervously. Whatever the cause behind your lip injury (smoking, lip licking, picking) EC should be treated like any other wound.

My EC is currently in a very good place and has been before i started the treatment i'm about to recommend. Previously i had bi-daily white buildup on 80 percent of my lips that cause the entire layer of skin to peel every time i got out of the shower. Currently i am more or less healed except for the middle of my top lip and a little bit of buildup on the bottom. I'm not sure how i advanced beyond the severe case of EC to what i have now but i think it was due to : less stress as i switched from full time labor job to college, Use of bepanthen (a healing cream for tattoos), protecting my lips with a barrier of vasoline during shower, drinking hot coffee with a straw, *no licking*. Obviously when you have a wound you don't pour hot coffee on it so you should avoid it as well with your lips (my recommendation). I did not follow a daily routine with the above methods they are just things i did when i felt it was needed.