Glad you're going to give up the yogart for a while.
I didn't realize that they put CASEIN in more than just dairy products. They put casein in so many different products I thought for a moment I was reading about Fluoride!
The ingredient to blame for chronic congestion and sinus infections is CASEIN, present in all milk-based products. It encourages growth of Candida Albicans, a type of flora that tells your organism to produce nasal mucus.
Studies show that the largest amounts of casein are found in cheeses. Goat's milk contains only trace amounts of allergenic casein and in general is easier to digest than cow's milk. However, goat's milk is not casein-free, as it is sometimes mistakenly suggested.
Of course, it is not easy to completely eliminate dairy products from your diet, especially that they are "hiding" in pastry, soups, ice cream and so many other things we can't imagine our life without.
In most cases, if dairy products are, indeed, to blame for your sinus infections, cutting back on diary products, especially cheese, will produce a satisfactory result.
You should definitely experiment and find out which products have the most negative effect on your condition. Go a week without any dairy products and see if your sinus infection goes away. If it does, try adding something like a glass of milk if you like it, and anything else you would normally eat that contain dairy, but still avoid cheese.
If severe congestion returns, you have to make a decision whether you want to continue living with it, or eliminate most of dairy out of your diet. If not, gradually add some cheese and see how you feel. In most cases cheese is the biggest culprit and should trigger sinus infection or severe congestion.
Dairy foods have the protein casein in them. These include milk, cheese, cottage cheese and yogurt. Casein intolerance or allergy is much rarer than lactose intolerance, according to foodintol.com. Lactose is the Sugar in milk.
Processed foods often contain casein. It will not always be labeled as such. Look out for milk solids, lactose, sodium lactylate, and any other ingredient that starts with "lact." Also seek the words: galactose, protein, caramel coloring, natural flavors, Recaladent, tagatose, Naturlose, milk, yogurt, cheese and butter, according to "Eating Without Casein A Practical Primer for People with Allergies to Milk," by Beth Kevles. The vinegar flavoring in potato chips contains casein as well. There's also the risk of cross-contamination when products are made on equipment that has been used for another product that contained a milk ingredient.
Casein is added to lunch meat, sausages and hot dogs, according to FAAN. It's also found in many brands of canned tuna, chicken broth or bouillon and "fresh" poultry, which can be infused with a solution to keep it fresher, warns Kevles. Even if the label on fresh poultry says "all natural," it may have up to 5 percent other additives, according to the California Poultry Federation. Other meat will be labeled "100 percent natural" but in fine print the label will admit that there is "up to 15 percent natural chicken broth."
Fast Food and Baked Goods
Fast food often contains casein--and in seemingly unlikely places. For example, McDonald's French fries contain milk-derived ingredients, according to Kevles. The fries contain gluten as well. The buns--and all baked goods whether from a fast-food restaurant or not for that matter--usually contain casein.
Foods that say "non-dairy" or appear to be non dairy actually can contain casein, according to FAAN. This includes non-dairy whipped toppings. It also includes soy cheese, which is marketed as an alternative to dairy cheese, according to Mike Adams, editor of naturalnews.com. Also watch out for artificial butter flavor and margarine.